Does Microsoft Teams Premium intelligent recap sign a BAA?

Not confirmed

Microsoft's HIPAA BAA comes by default through its Data Protection Addendum and covers Microsoft Teams and Microsoft Copilot. No Microsoft page we found names Teams Premium or intelligent recap as in scope, so BAA coverage of the recap feature itself is unconfirmed.

Based on 4 sources, all from Microsoft unless marked.

Business associate
Microsoft
Tool
Microsoft Teams Premium intelligent recap
Plans with a BAA
Microsoft Teams (Microsoft 365 / Office 365 Commercial and GCC)
Checked
Not confirmed
No BAA offer found on Microsoft's own pages.

By plan

PlanBAAHow to get itConditions
Microsoft Teams (Microsoft 365 / Office 365 Commercial and GCC)Signs a BAAIncluded in the termsCovered entities and business associates get the BAA by default through the Microsoft Online Services DPA. The Office 365 in-scope tables for Commercial and GCC list Microsoft Teams, Microsoft Copilot and Microsoft Copilot Chat. This row covers the base Teams service, not the Premium add-on.[1]
Teams Premium add-on (intelligent recap)Not confirmedNot statedMicrosoft's HIPAA page does not mention Teams Premium or intelligent recap. The recap privacy page says recap inherits the organization's Teams security, compliance and privacy policies and runs on Microsoft's Azure OpenAI service within Microsoft 365 compliance boundaries, but it never mentions HIPAA, a BAA or the DPA. The licensing pages say recap needs either a Teams Premium license or a Microsoft Copilot license.[1],[2],[3],[4]

Are the AI features covered?

Vendors often sign a BAA for the core product but leave some AI features out. Here is what Microsoft says about each one.

AI featureUnder the BAADetails
Intelligent recap (AI notes, recommended tasks, chapters, speaker timeline, mentions)Not statedMicrosoft says recap inherits Teams compliance policies, isn't used for model training, and isn't shared with OpenAI or other non-Microsoft parties. No official page states that the BAA covers recap. Recap requires transcription to be turned on.[2],[3]
Audio recap and multilingual recap (public preview)Teams Premium add-on (intelligent recap)Not statedAudio recap requires a Microsoft Copilot license and is kept for 60 days in the user's OneDrive. Both features were in public preview when checked. No official page addresses whether the BAA covers them.[3]

Meeting note-takers that offer a BAA

  • Fireflies.aiBAA on: EnterpriseSome plans only
  • GranolaBAA on: EnterpriseSome plans only
  • Krisp AI Meeting AssistantBAA on: Meeting AI Enterprise (Business tier), 100+ seatsSome plans only
  • MeetGeekBAA on: Any annual planSome plans only
  • Otter.aiBAA on: Enterprise (with HIPAA add-on)Some plans only
  • Read AIBAA on: Enterprise+ (annual)Some plans only

All BAA-ready alternatives to Microsoft Teams Premium intelligent recap

Sources

  1. HIPAA/HITECH - Microsoft complianceMicrosoft, Documentation. Checked Oct 11, 2026.
  2. Data, privacy, and security for intelligent recap in Teams PremiumMicrosoft, Documentation. Checked Oct 11, 2026.
  3. Intelligent recap for calls and meetingsMicrosoft, Documentation. Checked Oct 11, 2026.
  4. Microsoft Teams Premium licensingMicrosoft, Documentation. Checked Oct 11, 2026.

A signed BAA is necessary but not sufficient for HIPAA compliance, which also depends on configuration, access controls, and your own policies. Verdicts summarize the vendor's own published terms as of the date checked; confirm with the vendor and your counsel before sending protected health information. Not legal advice.