Does Microsoft sign a HIPAA BAA for its AI tools?

Microsoft’s AI tools we track, whether each comes with a HIPAA business associate agreement (BAA), and a dated record of what changed. Every verdict links to Microsoft’s own pages.

Microsoft’s AI tools

ToolBAAPlans with a BAAChecked
Azure AI SpeechSpeech-to-text and voice APIsSigns a BAAAzure commercial customersOct 13, 2026
Azure AI TranslatorTranslation AISigns a BAAAzure commercial customersOct 13, 2026
Azure OpenAICloud AI platformsSome plans onlyAzure subscription (EA / MCA / CSP), Models sold by Azure incl. Azure OpenAIOct 13, 2026
Microsoft 365 CopilotProductivity suite AISigns a BAAMicrosoft 365 commercial (Microsoft 365 Copilot license); Microsoft 365 Copilot Chat (free with eligible work/school Entra accounts); Office 365 GCCOct 11, 2026
Microsoft Copilot (consumer app)AI chat assistantsNot confirmedNot statedOct 11, 2026
Microsoft Copilot StudioCustomer support AISigns a BAACopilot Studio (commercial Online Service licenses)Oct 11, 2026
Microsoft Dragon CopilotAI medical scribesSigns a BAADragon Copilot (enterprise, via Microsoft volume licensing: EA/EAS, EES, MOSA); Dragon Copilot Physician Practice / Flex editionsOct 11, 2026
Microsoft Teams Premium intelligent recapMeeting note-takersNot confirmedMicrosoft Teams (Microsoft 365 / Office 365 Commercial and GCC)Oct 11, 2026
Microsoft Translator appTranslation AINot confirmedNot statedOct 13, 2026

Microsoft’s own compliance pages: trust center.

History

Every change to a Microsoft verdict, plan or AI feature since we started tracking, plus re-checks that found no change. Our own corrections are marked as such.

    • AI featureAzure AI Speech: Text to speech (including custom voice): BAA coverage changed from Unknown to Covered.
    • AI featureAzure AI Speech: Speech to text (real-time, fast and batch transcription): BAA coverage changed from Unknown to Covered.
    • TermsAzure AI Speech: Azure commercial customers: updated conditions.
    • PlanAzure AI Speech: Azure commercial customers: BAA changed from Unknown to Yes.
    • VerdictAzure AI Speech: overall BAA status changed from Unknown to Yes.
    • AI featureAzure OpenAI: Other partner/community models (e.g., Mistral, DeepSeek, Qwen): BAA coverage changed from Unknown to Excluded.
    • AI featureAzure OpenAI: Azure OpenAI models (Models sold by Azure): BAA coverage changed from Unknown to Covered.
    • TermsAzure OpenAI: Foundry Models from partners and community (serverless / Marketplace): updated conditions.
    • TermsAzure OpenAI: Azure subscription (EA / MCA / CSP), Models sold by Azure incl. Azure OpenAI: updated conditions.
    • PlanAzure OpenAI: Azure subscription (EA / MCA / CSP), Models sold by Azure incl. Azure OpenAI: BAA changed from Unknown to Yes.
    • VerdictAzure OpenAI: overall BAA status changed from Unknown to Conditional.
    • TermsAzure OpenAI: Azure subscription (EA / MCA / CSP), Models sold by Azure incl. Azure OpenAI: updated conditions (our correction after re-checking the vendor's pages).
    • ListedMicrosoft Translator app: Added to AI Vendor BAA Check.
    • ListedAzure AI Translator: Added to AI Vendor BAA Check.
    • Re-checkedAzure AI Speech: Re-checked against the vendor's pages; no change.

All vendors: What changed · RSS feed

Cite this

AI Vendor BAA Check. (n.d.). Does Microsoft sign a HIPAA BAA for its AI tools? Retrieved October 13, 2026, from https://aivendorbaacheck.com/vendors/microsoft

Verdicts summarize Microsoft’s published terms as of the dates shown. A signed BAA is necessary but not sufficient for HIPAA compliance. Not legal advice.