Press

Press and media

Independent data on which AI tools sign a HIPAA business associate agreement (BAA), plan by plan and AI feature by AI feature. Free to quote, chart and embed with credit.

AI tools checked
250
Offer a BAA
64%
Vendor pages cited
878
Re-check cycle
30 days
Last verified
Oct 13, 2026

Numbers to quote

From the October 2026 edition, frozen on Oct 14, 2026, so the figures behind your link won't change. Each sentence copies with its credit and a permanent link. Today’s numbers are in the live report.

  1. 160 of the 250 AI tools we checked (64%) offer a HIPAA business associate agreement (BAA) on at least one plan.

    Link
  2. 86 (34%) sign one on all the plans we list. For 74 more (30%), the BAA depends on the plan, edition or setup.

    Link
  3. Of the 160 tools that offer a BAA and that we checked feature by feature, 51 (32%) leave at least one AI feature fully or partly outside it.

    Link
  4. 5 of the 55 tools with a free plan include a BAA on that free plan.

    Link
  5. 30 tools (12%) say they don't sign a BAA or bar patient data. For 60 (24%), the vendor's own pages don't say either way.

    Link
  6. By kind of tool (counting kinds with at least 5 listed), the share offering a BAA is highest among cloud AI platforms (100% of 10) and lowest among revenue cycle and medical coding AI tools (17% of 6).

    Link
  7. For 64 of the 160 tools that offer a BAA (40%), the easiest route still runs through a sales team; 71 (44%) let you accept it online or include it in the terms.

    Link

Charts

Ready to publish at 1200 pixels wide, with the source and date on the image. Free to use with credit. Prefer a live chart? Embed it.

Bar chart: of 250 AI tools checked, 86 (34%) sign a HIPAA BAA on all listed plans, 74 (30%) only on some plans or setups, 30 (12%) don't sign one, and for 60 (24%) the vendor's pages don't say.
64% of AI tools offer a HIPAA BAAOctober 2026 editionDownload PNG
Show the numbers
  • Signs on all listed plans: 34% (86)
  • Some plans or setups only: 30% (74)
  • No BAA: 12% (30)
  • Not confirmed: 24% (60)
Bar chart: of 250 AI tools checked, 86 (34%) sign a HIPAA BAA on all listed plans, 74 (30%) only on some plans or setups, 30 (12%) don't sign one, and for 60 (24%) the vendor's pages don't say.
Does the vendor sign a BAA?October 2026 editionDownload PNG
Show the numbers
  • Signs on all listed plans: 34% (86)
  • Some plans or setups only: 30% (74)
  • No BAA: 12% (30)
  • Not confirmed: 24% (60)
Bar chart of the share of AI tools offering a HIPAA BAA by category: Cloud AI platforms 100% of 10; Productivity suite AI 100% of 2; EHR and practice software AI 90% of 10; AI medical scribes 88% of 34; Patient communication AI 86% of 14; Speech-to-text and voice APIs 86% of 7; AI voice agents 81% of 21; Customer support AI 71% of 14; Meeting note-takers 67% of 18; Workspace and collaboration AI 61% of 28; LLM APIs 54% of 13; AI chat assistants 50% of 14; Transcription 50% of 6; Clinical AI assistants 41% of 17; Translation AI 30% of 10; Writing assistants 29% of 7; AI coding tools 26% of 19; Revenue cycle and coding AI 17% of 6.
Share offering a BAA, by kind of toolOctober 2026 editionDownload PNG
Show the numbers
  • Cloud AI platforms (10): 100%
  • Productivity suite AI (2): 100%
  • EHR and practice software AI (10): 90%
  • AI medical scribes (34): 88%
  • Patient communication AI (14): 86%
  • Speech-to-text and voice APIs (7): 86%
  • AI voice agents (21): 81%
  • Customer support AI (14): 71%
  • Meeting note-takers (18): 67%
  • Workspace and collaboration AI (28): 61%
  • LLM APIs (13): 54%
  • AI chat assistants (14): 50%
  • Transcription (6): 50%
  • Clinical AI assistants (17): 41%
  • Translation AI (10): 30%
  • Writing assistants (7): 29%
  • AI coding tools (19): 26%
  • Revenue cycle and coding AI (6): 17%
Bar chart: of 160 AI tools that offer a HIPAA BAA, 43 (27%) state all listed AI features are covered, 51 (32%) leave at least one AI feature fully or partly outside the BAA, and 92 (57%) don't say for at least one AI feature.
Is the AI covered by the BAA?October 2026 editionDownload PNG
Show the numbers
  • All listed AI features covered: 27% (43)
  • Leave an AI feature out: 32% (51)
  • Don't say for an AI feature: 57% (92)
Bar chart of how AI vendors provide their HIPAA BAA: Included in the terms 21% (33); Accept or sign online 24% (38); Request by email 8% (13); Through sales 40% (64); Not stated 8% (12).
How you get the BAAOctober 2026 editionDownload PNG
Show the numbers
  • Included in the terms: 21% (33)
  • Accept or sign online: 24% (38)
  • Request by email: 8% (13)
  • Through sales: 40% (64)
  • Not stated: 8% (12)

What changed lately

  • SpeechmaticsSpeechmatics: AI feature no longer tracked — Speech-to-text API (batch and real-time) (our correction after re-checking the vendor's pages).
  • TrintTrint — All plans (including Enterprise): updated conditions (our correction after re-checking the vendor's pages).
  • Hugging FaceHugging Face — Enterprise: updated conditions (our correction after re-checking the vendor's pages).
  • Make.comMake.com — All plans (Free, Core, Pro, Teams, Enterprise): updated conditions (our correction after re-checking the vendor's pages).
  • n8n Cloudn8n Cloud — n8n Cloud (Starter, Pro, Business, Enterprise): updated conditions (our correction after re-checking the vendor's pages).
  • PiPi — Inflection enterprise / API: updated conditions (our correction after re-checking the vendor's pages).
  • Fireworks AIFireworks AI — All plans (Developer, Enterprise): updated conditions (our correction after re-checking the vendor's pages).
  • Hello PatientHello Patient — Mia AI assistant (patient calls and SMS): BAA coverage changed from Unknown to Covered (our correction after re-checking the vendor's pages).

Full log: What changed. Follow with the RSS feed.

Questions the data answers

About the data

  • Each verdict rests on the vendor’s own pages: trust center, HIPAA page, help center, legal terms or official docs, with a link and the date we read it. Third-party write-ups are never the basis for a verdict.
  • “Not confirmed” means the vendor’s pages don’t say. It isn’t a guess, and it isn’t a no.
  • A daily monitor re-reads up to 120 vendor pages and flags changes. Each listing is due for a full re-check every 30 days. Verdict changes and our own corrections are logged with dates.
  • Percentages are of the 250 tools we track, not of all AI tools on the market.
  • Vendors can’t pay to change a verdict. Any sponsored placement is labeled and never affects one.
  • A signed BAA is necessary for HIPAA compliance, not sufficient. Our verdicts summarize published terms and aren’t legal advice.

More: How we check · Download the dataset · Report editions · Free API

Name and logo

Our name is AI Vendor BAA Check. The logo is a yellow “sign here” flag with a check mark: download the SVG.