Does Slack AI sign a BAA?

Only on some plans or setups

Slack covers PHI under a BAA only on Enterprise plans that buy the 'Slack - HIPAA Enabled' SKU, and only once Slack confirms the org is HIPAA-enabled. Slack and Salesforce's BAA documents name messages, files, huddles, and clips as PHI-permitted but never say whether Slack AI features are covered.

Based on 4 sources, all from Slack (Salesforce) unless marked.

Not fully covered by the BAA: Third-party AI apps from the Slack Marketplace.

Business associate
Slack (Salesforce)
Tool
Slack AI
Plans with a BAA
Enterprise (Enterprise+ / Enterprise Grid) with 'Slack - HIPAA Enabled' SKU
Checked
Some plans only
Slack (Salesforce) signs only for the plans listed.

By plan

PlanBAAHow to get itConditions
Free / Pro / Business+No BAANot offeredBAA coverage requires an enterprise-level Slack plan.[1],[2]
Enterprise (Enterprise+ / Enterprise Grid) with 'Slack - HIPAA Enabled' SKUConditions applyThrough salesFor workspaces from March 20, 2023 on, the customer must buy the HIPAA Enabled SKU and sign the BAA. Coverage applies only to orgs that Slack has confirmed as HIPAA-enabled. Customers must follow the Slack Guide for HIPAA Entities.[1],[2],[3]
GovSlack / GovGridNo BAANot offeredSalesforce says GovGrid plans are not currently eligible for BAA coverage.[2]

Are the AI features covered?

Vendors often sign a BAA for the core product but leave some AI features out. Here is what Slack (Salesforce) says about each one.

AI featureUnder the BAADetails
Slack AI summaries, recaps, search answers, file summaries, translationsEnterprise (Enterprise+ / Enterprise Grid) with 'Slack - HIPAA Enabled' SKUNot statedNeither the Slack Guide for HIPAA Entities nor the Salesforce BAA Restrictions mentions Slack AI. Slack's HIPAA marketing page describes Slack AI but says nothing on BAA coverage.[1],[2],[3]
Huddle notes (AI transcription/summary)Enterprise (Enterprise+ / Enterprise Grid) with 'Slack - HIPAA Enabled' SKUNot statedPHI is allowed in huddle contents, but neither document says whether AI-generated huddle notes are covered.[1],[2]
Slackbot AI agent, Enterprise search, Agentforce in SlackEnterprise (Enterprise+ / Enterprise Grid) with 'Slack - HIPAA Enabled' SKUNot statedNeither BAA document mentions these. The Guide says custom Slackbot responses must not contain PHI, but that rule is about canned responses rather than the AI agent.[1],[2]
Third-party AI apps from the Slack MarketplaceEnterprise (Enterprise+ / Enterprise Grid) with 'Slack - HIPAA Enabled' SKUExcludedSlack has no BAA with App Directory third parties. The customer has to decide whether it needs its own BAA with each vendor.[1]

Workspace and collaboration AI that offer a BAA

All BAA-ready alternatives to Slack AI

Sources

  1. Slack Guide for HIPAA EntitiesSalesforce / Slack, Legal terms. Checked Oct 11, 2026.
  2. Business Associate Addendum RestrictionsSalesforce, Legal terms. Checked Oct 11, 2026.
  3. Configure Enterprise Grid to be HIPAA-compliantSlack, Documentation. Checked Oct 11, 2026.
  4. Guide to AI features in SlackSlack, Help center. Checked Oct 11, 2026.

A signed BAA is necessary but not sufficient for HIPAA compliance, which also depends on configuration, access controls, and your own policies. Verdicts summarize the vendor's own published terms as of the date checked; confirm with the vendor and your counsel before sending protected health information. Not legal advice.