Does Bland AI sign a BAA?
Only on some plans or setups
Bland AI says it signs BAAs with healthcare customers and that a BAA is included with healthcare deployments at no extra HIPAA charge. Its pages do not say whether self-serve Build or Scale accounts can get one.
- Business associate
- Bland AI
- Tool
- Bland AI
- Plans with a BAA
- Healthcare / Enterprise deployments
- Checked
Some plans only
By plan
| Plan | BAA | How to get it | Conditions |
|---|---|---|---|
| Healthcare / Enterprise deployments | Signs a BAA | Through salesRequest page | Bland's healthcare page says a BAA is included with healthcare deployments and HIPAA is included in standard pricing (quoted at $0.11 to $0.14 per minute); teams typically go from signed BAA to first live call in about 30 days. The trust page lists HIPAA as self-attested with a BAA signed before launch, and the enterprise material says BAAs and DPAs are available. Onboarding is via demo/sales calls. A blog post mentions flexible BAA terms including pay-as-you-go options.[1],[2],[3],[4],[5] |
| Build (free) / Scale self-serve plans | Not confirmed | Not stated | Bland's plan comparison table was not readable in the fetched content, and no official page states whether a BAA is available on these self-serve tiers.[3] |
Are the AI features covered?
Vendors often sign a BAA for the core product but leave some AI features out. Here is what Bland AI says about each one.
| AI feature | Under the BAA | Details |
|---|---|---|
| In-call speech, model and voice (Bland-hosted)Healthcare / Enterprise deployments | Covered | Bland says it runs its own model and speech stack, uses no third-party AI providers such as OpenAI, Anthropic or Google in the call path, and that one BAA covers the entire call.[1],[2],[4] |
| Call recordings and transcriptsHealthcare / Enterprise deployments | Not stated | The trust page describes real-time PII redaction on recordings and transcripts, configurable retention and optional zero-retention processing, but no page explicitly states how recordings and transcripts are treated under the BAA.[2],[1] |
| Self-hosted / VPC / on-prem / air-gapped deploymentsHealthcare / Enterprise deployments | Not stated | Bland offers customer-VPC, on-premise and air-gapped options, but does not say how BAA coverage applies to each.[2],[3] |
AI voice agents that offer a BAA
- Assort HealthBAA on: Healthcare provider customer agreementsSome plans only
- SynthflowBAA on: Enterprise (sales-led annual agreement)Some plans only
- Twilio (Voice, ConversationRelay, Flex)BAA on: Security Edition or Enterprise EditionSome plans only
- VapiBAA on: Usage-only or any Success Package, with the HIPAA add-onSome plans only
- Amazon ConnectBAA on: Any AWS account that accepts the AWS BAASigns a BAA
- Google Cloud Contact Center AI / Customer Engagement SuiteBAA on: Google Cloud customers who accept the Google Cloud BAASigns a BAA
All BAA-ready alternatives to Bland AI
Compare Bland AI
- Vapi vs Bland AIVapi: some plans
- Retell AI vs Bland AIRetell AI: signs a BAA
Sources
- Bland for Healthcare
- Trust & Security
- Bland llms-full.txt (site content index)
- A health insurance call center built for HIPAA-compliant voice AI
- Does Bland's Voice AI meet enterprise compliance requirements like BAAs and HIPAA?
A signed BAA is necessary but not sufficient for HIPAA compliance, which also depends on configuration, access controls, and your own policies. Verdicts summarize the vendor's own published terms as of the date checked; confirm with the vendor and your counsel before sending protected health information. Not legal advice.