Does Azure AI Speech (Azure Speech in Foundry Tools) sign a BAA?

Not confirmed

Microsoft includes its HIPAA BAA by default for in-scope Azure services, with nothing separate to sign. None of the Microsoft pages that could be read names Azure AI Speech as in scope, so coverage for Speech is unknown.

Based on 6 sources, all from Microsoft unless marked.

Business associate
Microsoft
Tool
Azure AI Speech (Azure Speech in Foundry Tools)
Plans with a BAA
Not stated
Checked
Not confirmed
No BAA offer found on Microsoft's own pages.

By plan

PlanBAAHow to get itConditions
Azure commercial customersNot confirmedIncluded in the termsMicrosoft's BAA comes by default through the Product Terms and the DPA for customers that are covered entities or business associates, and it applies to in-scope services. The service-level scope list is in a Service Trust Portal document that could not be opened, so it is unconfirmed whether Speech is in scope.[1],[2],[3]

Are the AI features covered?

Vendors often sign a BAA for the core product but leave some AI features out. Here is what Microsoft says about each one.

AI featureUnder the BAADetails
Speech to text (real-time, fast and batch transcription)Not statedNo page checked addresses BAA coverage. Microsoft says it does not store real-time or fast-transcription audio. Batch output goes to storage the customer chooses, or to Microsoft storage that the customer can delete or set to expire.[3],[4]
Text to speech (including custom voice)Not statedNo page checked addresses BAA coverage for text to speech.[3],[5]
Speech translation, Voice Live and LLM speech (preview)Not statedNo page checked addresses BAA coverage. LLM speech is labeled preview in the Speech overview.[5]

Speech-to-text and voice APIs that offer a BAA

All BAA-ready alternatives to Azure AI Speech (Azure Speech in Foundry Tools)

Sources

  1. HIPAA (US) Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act - Azure complianceMicrosoft, Documentation. Checked Oct 12, 2026.
  2. HIPAA/HITECH - Microsoft complianceMicrosoft, Documentation. Checked Oct 12, 2026.
  3. Cloud services in audit scopeMicrosoft, Documentation. Checked Oct 12, 2026.
  4. Data, privacy, and security for speech to textMicrosoft, Documentation. Checked Oct 12, 2026.
  5. What is the Speech service?Microsoft, Documentation. Checked Oct 12, 2026.
  6. Azure Cognitive Services adds important certifications, greater availability, and new unified keyMicrosoft, Announcement. Checked Oct 12, 2026.

A signed BAA is necessary but not sufficient for HIPAA compliance, which also depends on configuration, access controls, and your own policies. Verdicts summarize the vendor's own published terms as of the date checked; confirm with the vendor and your counsel before sending protected health information. Not legal advice.