Does Retell AI sign a BAA?
Yes, it signs a BAA
Retell AI signs a BAA, and its docs say customers can self-sign it online at no additional fee. Its own blog says the BAA is available on the pay-as-you-go plan, with Enterprise adding custom terms.
- Business associate
- Retell AI
- Tool
- Retell AI
- Plans with a BAA
- Pay-as-you-go; Enterprise
- Checked
Signs a BAA
By plan
| Plan | BAA | How to get it | Conditions |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pay-as-you-go | Signs a BAA | Accept or sign onlineRequest page | Retell's compliance docs say the BAA can be self-signed at click-agreements.retellai.com with no additional fee, and that a signed BAA is required before sending PHI. Retell's August 2026 blog post says HIPAA is available on pay-as-you-go and the BAA is requested from workspace settings and countersigned, usually within a business day. An older help-center article (marked last updated about a year ago) instead describes a BAA request form with manual team review, and says the BAA applies to the whole account rather than individual workspaces.[1],[2],[3] |
| Enterprise | Signs a BAA | Through sales | Retell's blog says Enterprise adds stronger SLAs and negotiated terms (e.g., redlined contracts) on top of the same compliance posture. The pricing page lists a separate 'Custom BAA' row, but its plan checkmarks did not render in the fetched text, so which tier gets a custom BAA is not confirmed from that page.[2],[4] |
Are the AI features covered?
Vendors often sign a BAA for the core product but leave some AI features out. Here is what Retell AI says about each one.
| AI feature | Under the BAA | Details |
|---|---|---|
| Call recordings and transcripts | Covered | Retell's help-center article says HIPAA accounts can keep using transcription and call recording with no extra technical configuration. The compliance docs describe per-agent retention (1 day to 2 years) for transcripts, recordings and logs, and signed recording URLs. The blog recommends short recording retention and not forwarding transcripts to tools without their own BAA.[3],[1],[2] |
| PII redaction (PII Removal add-on) | Not stated | Optional add-on listed at about $0.01 per minute. Retell's blog recommends turning it on for HIPAA workloads; no official page says it is required for the BAA.[2],[4] |
| Underlying LLM / voice / telephony providers | Not stated | None of the Retell pages checked say which LLM, TTS, STT or telephony providers are covered under Retell's BAA. The subprocessor list is available only on request.[1],[2] |
Compare Retell AI
- Retell AI vs VapiVapi: some plans
- Retell AI vs Bland AIBland AI: some plans
Sources
- Compliance (Retell AI docs)
- Can I Get HIPAA-Compliant Voice AI Without an Enterprise Contract? Yes, Here's How
- How to enable HIPAA compliance for your account
- Retell AI Pricing
A signed BAA is necessary but not sufficient for HIPAA compliance, which also depends on configuration, access controls, and your own policies. Verdicts summarize the vendor's own published terms as of the date checked; confirm with the vendor and your counsel before sending protected health information. Not legal advice.