Is ClinicalKey AI HIPAA compliant?

Not confirmed. We couldn't find a Business Associate Agreement offer for ClinicalKey AI on Elsevier's own pages. Without a signed BAA, keep patient data out of it.

Does ClinicalKey AI sign a BAA?

Not confirmed

Elsevier markets ClinicalKey AI for use under HIPAA and says it has controls to protect PHI, but no official page says whether Elsevier signs a BAA for it. The separate Ask AI feature in classic ClinicalKey is described as not storing or processing patient-identifiable information. BAA availability is unknown.

Based on 3 sources, all from Elsevier unless marked.

Business associate
Elsevier
Tool
ClinicalKey AI
Plans with a BAA
Not stated
Checked
Not confirmed
No BAA offer found on Elsevier's own pages.

By plan

PlanBAAHow to get itConditions
ClinicalKey AI (institutional license)Not confirmedNot statedThe product page says it is built to be HIPAA-compliant (where recognized by country regulators) and encrypts user data in transit and at rest; a 2026 press release says it has controls built to help protect PHI. Neither page, nor the Elsevier Trust Center, mentions a BAA or how to request one. Sold to institutions; ask Elsevier sales whether a BAA is available before entering PHI.[1],[2],[3]
ClinicalKey with Ask AI (existing ClinicalKey subscription)Not confirmedNot statedElsevier says ClinicalKey (with Ask AI) does not store, process or retain patient-identifiable information. It does not say whether a BAA is offered, so treat this surface as not intended for PHI.[2]

Are the AI features covered?

Vendors often sign a BAA for the core product but leave some AI features out. Here is what Elsevier says about each one.

AI featureUnder the BAADetails
ClinicalKey AI answers (incl. patient-context prompts, EHR/SMART on FHIR access, mobile dictation)ClinicalKey AI (institutional license)Not statedResponses can be tailored to patient context such as age, comorbidities and medications when prompted. Elsevier markets PHI protections but publishes no BAA, so BAA coverage of these features is unknown. Query history is kept and managed in a privacy panel.[1],[2]
Ask AI in ClinicalKeyClinicalKey with Ask AI (existing ClinicalKey subscription)Not statedDescribed as not storing, processing or retaining patient-identifiable information; no BAA is mentioned.[2]

Clinical AI assistants that offer a BAA

  • Ada HealthBAA on: Enterprise partner deployments (health systems, payers)Some plans only
  • Glass HealthBAA on: Glass Developer APISome plans only
  • UpToDate Expert AIBAA on: Enterprise / institutional subscriptionSome plans only
  • InfermedicaBAA on: Enterprise / API clients (health systems, payers, digital health)Signs a BAA
  • OpenEvidenceBAA on: OpenEvidence accounts used by US covered entitiesSigns a BAA
  • OverjetBAA on: Overjet customers under a Master Services AgreementSigns a BAA

All BAA-ready alternatives to ClinicalKey AI

Sources

  1. ClinicalKey AIElsevier, Documentation. Checked Oct 13, 2026. Archived copy
  2. Elsevier makes new Ask AI feature in ClinicalKey available to more than 1,500 hospital sites in the USElsevier, Announcement. Checked Oct 13, 2026. Archived copy
  3. Elsevier Trust CenterElsevier, Trust center. Checked Oct 13, 2026. Archived copy

A signed BAA is necessary but not sufficient for HIPAA compliance, which also depends on configuration, access controls, and your own policies. Verdicts summarize the vendor's own published terms as of the date checked; confirm with the vendor and your counsel before sending protected health information. Not legal advice.