Does AssemblyAI sign a BAA?

Only on some plans or setups

AssemblyAI signs a standard BAA at no extra cost for paid accounts, and owners or admins can sign it from the dashboard. Signing opts the account out of model training and shortens data retention. AssemblyAI does not say clearly whether LLM Gateway is covered.

Based on 5 sources, all from AssemblyAI unless marked.

Business associate
AssemblyAI
Tool
AssemblyAI
Plans with a BAA
Paid (upgraded) accounts
Checked
Some plans only
AssemblyAI signs only for the plans listed.

By plan

PlanBAAHow to get itConditions
Paid (upgraded) accountsSigns a BAAAccept or sign onlineOwners or admins of paid accounts can sign the standard online BAA from the Data Controls page in the dashboard, at no extra cost. Signing opts the account out of model training. AssemblyAI's legal page calls its BAA text a sample template and points to sales for a signed copy.[1],[2],[3]
Free accountsNo BAANot offeredThe BAA option only appears in the dashboard for upgraded (paid) accounts.[1]

Are the AI features covered?

Vendors often sign a BAA for the core product but leave some AI features out. Here is what AssemblyAI says about each one.

AI featureUnder the BAADetails
Pre-recorded (async) speech-to-textPaid (upgraded) accountsCoveredAssemblyAI says the BAA lets covered entities process PHI. Async audio and transcripts submitted under a BAA follow a shorter deletion default, starting at 72 hours, which can be set as low as 1 hour.[3],[4]
LLM GatewayPaid (upgraded) accountsNot statedBAA customers get zero data retention on LLM Gateway only when using Anthropic or Google models. Anthropic models run on Amazon Bedrock and may fall back to the Anthropic API for non-EU customers. AssemblyAI does not say outright that PHI sent through the gateway is covered, or how other providers are treated.[4],[5]
Speech understanding (translation, speaker identification, custom formatting)Paid (upgraded) accountsNot statedThese requests follow the async transcript's data lifecycle. No page explicitly addresses BAA coverage for them.[4]
Streaming speech-to-textPaid (upgraded) accountsNot statedThe retention docs do not mention a BAA for streaming. Streaming audio and transcripts have zero retention when the account is opted out of training.[4]

Speech-to-text and voice APIs that offer a BAA

All BAA-ready alternatives to AssemblyAI

Sources

  1. Will AssemblyAI sign a Business Associate Addendum (BAA)?AssemblyAI, Help center. Checked Oct 11, 2026.
  2. Business Associate AgreementAssemblyAI, Legal terms. Checked Oct 11, 2026.
  3. Data controlsAssemblyAI, Documentation. Checked Oct 11, 2026.
  4. Data retention and model trainingAssemblyAI, Documentation. Checked Oct 11, 2026.
  5. LLM Gateway providersAssemblyAI, Documentation. Checked Oct 11, 2026.

A signed BAA is necessary but not sufficient for HIPAA compliance, which also depends on configuration, access controls, and your own policies. Verdicts summarize the vendor's own published terms as of the date checked; confirm with the vendor and your counsel before sending protected health information. Not legal advice.