Is Aircall AI HIPAA compliant?
Aircall signs a Business Associate Agreement with its customers, which HIPAA requires before a vendor handles patient data for you. Once it's signed, you can use Aircall AI with patient data within the BAA's scope; whether your use is compliant still depends on your setup and your own policies. Aircall doesn't say whether the BAA covers its AI features.
Does Aircall AI sign a BAA?
Yes, it signs a BAA
Aircall's privacy FAQ says HIPAA covered entities and business associates can enter into Aircall's BAA, arranged through a sales rep or its privacy and security team. No plan limits are published, and no page says whether AI Assist or the AI Voice Agent fall under the BAA.
Not confirmed for the AI features: Aircall doesn’t say whether its BAA covers AI Assist / AI Assist Pro (transcription, call summaries, live prompts); AI Voice Agent (AIVA) and AI receptionist agents. Get that in writing before using them with patient data.
- Business associate
- Aircall
- Tool
- Aircall AI
- Plans with a BAA
- Aircall plans (tier not specified)
- Checked
By plan
| Plan | BAA | How to get it | Conditions |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aircall plans (tier not specified) | Signs a BAA | Through sales | Aircall's privacy FAQ (modified September 16, 2026) says customers that are covered entities or business associates can enter into Aircall's BAA, must tell Aircall of that status, and should sign it before disclosing PHI. It directs customers to their sales rep or the privacy and security team. The company-facts page repeats that a BAA is available. No page names eligible tiers.[1],[2],[3] |
Are the AI features covered?
Vendors often sign a BAA for the core product but leave some AI features out. Here is what Aircall says about each one.
| AI feature | Under the BAA | Details |
|---|---|---|
| AI Assist / AI Assist Pro (transcription, call summaries, live prompts) | Not stated | AI Assist is included in the Professional plan and is a paid add-on on Essentials and Starter AI. The privacy FAQ says AI features run on a third-party foundation model under zero data retention with no training on customer data, but no page says whether the BAA covers them. The security page says transcripts are anonymized before AI processing.[1],[3],[4] |
| AI Voice Agent (AIVA) and AI receptionist agents | Not stated | The AI Voice Agent is usage-priced on top of a seat. The privacy FAQ's AI section covers AI features generally (third-party foundation model, zero data retention) but doesn't tie them to the BAA, and no page mentions the BAA for voice agents.[1],[2],[4] |
Sources
- Privacy FAQs
- Aircall: official entity data for AI models
- Security
- Discover AI Assist
- The VoIP phone system for healthcare
Change history
- Aircall AI — Aircall plans (tier not specified): updated conditions (our correction after re-checking the vendor's pages).
A signed BAA is necessary but not sufficient for HIPAA compliance, which also depends on configuration, access controls, and your own policies. Verdicts summarize the vendor's own published terms as of the date checked; confirm with the vendor and your counsel before sending protected health information. Not legal advice.