Does Tabnine sign a BAA?
Not confirmed
Tabnine's own pages do not say whether it signs a BAA. A comparison page lists HIPAA among its certifications, but its trust center does not list HIPAA and no BAA process is published.
- Business associate
- Tabnine
- Tool
- Tabnine
- Plans with a BAA
- Not stated
- Checked
Not confirmed
By plan
| Plan | BAA | How to get it | Conditions |
|---|---|---|---|
| All plans (SaaS) | Not confirmed | Not stated | No official page describes a BAA. The trust center lists GDPR, ISO 9001, ISO 27001 and SOC 2 only.[1],[2] |
| Enterprise (private installation: VPC / on-prem / air-gapped) | Not confirmed | Not stated | Enterprise customers can run a private installation. Tabnine's pages do not say whether a BAA is offered for any deployment.[2] |
Are the AI features covered?
Vendors often sign a BAA for the core product but leave some AI features out. Here is what Tabnine says about each one.
| AI feature | Under the BAA | Details |
|---|---|---|
| Code completion, chat and agentsEnterprise (private installation: VPC / on-prem / air-gapped) | Not stated | No official statement on BAA coverage for any feature.[1],[3] |
AI coding tools that offer a BAA
- Claude CodeBAA on: Claude Console API key (Commercial org) with zero data retention, Claude Enterprise (HIPAA-ready)Some plans only
- CursorBAA on: EnterpriseSome plans only
- OpenAI CodexBAA on: ChatGPT for Healthcare / ChatGPT for Clinicians / Enterprise or Edu with Regulated Workspace, OpenAI API (API key sign-in) with Modified RetentionSome plans only
All BAA-ready alternatives to Tabnine
Sources
A signed BAA is necessary but not sufficient for HIPAA compliance, which also depends on configuration, access controls, and your own policies. Verdicts summarize the vendor's own published terms as of the date checked; confirm with the vendor and your counsel before sending protected health information. Not legal advice.