Does GroqCloud sign a BAA?

Only on some plans or setups

Groq publishes a Customer Business Associate Addendum, effective October 15, 2025, for HIPAA covered entities and business associates with a Groq agreement. It covers paid, generally available GroqCloud services; free usage, trials and beta features are excluded.

Based on 3 sources, all from Groq unless marked.

Not fully covered by the BAA: Beta / non-GA features.

Business associate
Groq
Tool
GroqCloud
Plans with a BAA
GroqCloud paid, generally available services (customers with an existing Groq agreement)
Checked
Some plans only
Groq signs only for the plans listed.

By plan

PlanBAAHow to get itConditions
GroqCloud paid, generally available services (customers with an existing Groq agreement)Signs a BAANot statedRequest pageThe addendum applies only where the customer is a HIPAA covered entity or business associate and already has a Groq agreement. Free or no-charge services, trials, previews and beta features are excluded, so only paid, generally available services are covered. It takes effect once the customer signs or accepts it, but the page does not say whether acceptance happens in the console or through sales.[1],[2]
Free tier / no-charge usage and trialsNo BAANot offeredGroq's addendum excludes anything provided for free or at no additional charge, and trial, demo and preview offerings.[1]

Are the AI features covered?

Vendors often sign a BAA for the core product but leave some AI features out. Here is what Groq says about each one.

AI featureUnder the BAADetails
Generally available inference APIs (Covered Cloud Services)GroqCloud paid, generally available services (customers with an existing Groq agreement)CoveredCovers PHI that Groq receives through Covered Cloud Services. Groq can update which services count as covered through its legal documentation.[1]
Beta / non-GA featuresGroqCloud paid, generally available services (customers with an existing Groq agreement)ExcludedBeta services, and any feature or product that is not generally available, are carved out of Covered Cloud Services, as are free, trial, demo and preview offerings.[1]
Batch, Files and Fine-tuningGroqCloud paid, generally available services (customers with an existing Groq agreement)Not statedThe BAA does not address these features specifically. The data-controls docs say they retain data (batch files for 30 days, fine-tuning data until deleted) and are disabled when Zero Data Retention is turned on.[1],[3]

LLM APIs that offer a BAA

  • Claude API (Claude Platform)BAA on: First-party API (custom / negotiated BAA), First-party API (self-serve Console enablement)Some plans only
  • CohereBAA on: Custom model development engagementSome plans only
  • OpenAI API platformBAA on: API (enterprise / sales-managed accounts), API (pay-as-you-go / self-serve organizations), API FedRAMP (with Modified Retention)Signs a BAA

All BAA-ready alternatives to GroqCloud

Sources

  1. Groq Customer Business Associate AddendumGroq, Legal terms. Checked Oct 11, 2026.
  2. Legal | GroqCloud DocsGroq, Legal terms. Checked Oct 11, 2026.
  3. Your Data in GroqCloudGroq, Documentation. Checked Oct 11, 2026.

A signed BAA is necessary but not sufficient for HIPAA compliance, which also depends on configuration, access controls, and your own policies. Verdicts summarize the vendor's own published terms as of the date checked; confirm with the vendor and your counsel before sending protected health information. Not legal advice.