Does Amazon Bedrock sign a BAA?

Yes, it signs a BAA

Amazon Bedrock and Bedrock AgentCore are on AWS's list of HIPAA Eligible Services, covered by the standard AWS BAA that customers accept themselves in AWS Artifact. AWS's list names no excluded Bedrock models or features.

Based on 7 sources, all from Amazon Web Services unless marked.

Not fully covered by the BAA: Claude on Bedrock under Anthropic's BAA.

Business associate
Amazon Web Services
Tool
Amazon Bedrock
Plans with a BAA
AWS accounts (standard AWS BAA)
Checked
Signs a BAA
Amazon Web Services signs a BAA for Amazon Bedrock.

By plan

PlanBAAHow to get itConditions
AWS accounts (standard AWS BAA)Signs a BAAAccept or sign onlineReview and accept the AWS BAA in AWS Artifact, for one account or across an organization. Process PHI only in HIPAA-eligible services. AWS notes its new sign-up experience isn't designed for regulated workloads and recommends an advanced/full account setup.[1],[2],[3]

Are the AI features covered?

Vendors often sign a BAA for the core product but leave some AI features out. Here is what Amazon Web Services says about each one.

AI featureUnder the BAADetails
Amazon Bedrock (generally available features and serverless models)CoveredListed as HIPAA eligible with no bracketed exclusions. AWS treats generally available features of listed services as eligible unless specifically excluded. The Bedrock FAQ also says it is HIPAA eligible.[1],[4],[5]
Amazon Bedrock AgentCoreCoveredListed separately as a HIPAA Eligible Service with no exclusions noted.[1]
Claude Fable 5 / 5.1 (mandatory retention mode)Not statedThese models require the 'aws_review' (or legacy 'provider_data_share') retention mode: AWS keeps prompts and outputs up to 30 days for possible review inside the AWS boundary. AWS's eligibility list shows no exclusion for them, but no AWS page addresses HIPAA for this retention path. A third-party site claims the models are excluded, which AWS's pages do not confirm.[1],[6]
Bedrock Marketplace models and preview features (e.g., Bedrock Managed Agents preview)Not statedAWS's general rule covers generally available features only. The Bedrock FAQ and Marketplace docs don't address HIPAA for Marketplace or preview items.[4],[5]
Claude on Bedrock under Anthropic's BAAExcludedAnthropic's own BAA does not cover Bedrock usage; coverage comes from the AWS BAA instead.[7]

Compare Amazon Bedrock

Sources

  1. AWS Services in Scope by Compliance Program: HIPAA BAAAmazon Web Services, Documentation. Checked Oct 11, 2026.
  2. HIPAA ComplianceAmazon Web Services, Trust center. Checked Oct 11, 2026.
  3. Compliance validation for Amazon BedrockAmazon Web Services, Documentation. Checked Oct 11, 2026.
  4. Amazon Bedrock FAQsAmazon Web Services, Documentation. Checked Oct 11, 2026.
  5. HIPAA Eligible Services Reference (German edition)Amazon Web Services, Trust center. Checked Oct 11, 2026.
  6. Data retention - Amazon BedrockAmazon Web Services, Documentation. Checked Oct 11, 2026.
  7. API and data retentionAnthropic, Documentation. Checked Oct 11, 2026.

A signed BAA is necessary but not sufficient for HIPAA compliance, which also depends on configuration, access controls, and your own policies. Verdicts summarize the vendor's own published terms as of the date checked; confirm with the vendor and your counsel before sending protected health information. Not legal advice.